Faculty Awards

Elif Akçalı profile picture
Elif Akçalı
Gilbreth Memorial Fellowship Recipient, 1999
ISCIS Best Paper Award, 2003
SME Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineering Award, 2004
Michelle Alvarado profile picture
Michelle Alvarado
INFORMS Minority Issues Forum Paper Competition (1st Place), 2017
Judith Liebman Award by INFORMS, 2014
RADM Fred Lewis (I/ITSEC) Doctoral Scholarship, 2012
IIE’s Gilbreth Memorial Scholarship, 2010
IIE’s John S.W. Fargher Scholarship, 2009
NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program Honorable Mention, 2008
IIE Student Award for Excellence (#1 undergraduate IE), 2008
Graduate Assist. in Areas of National Need (GAANN) Fellow, 2008-2011
USA TODAY All Academic Team – 2nd Team (Top 40 College), 2008
USA TODAY All Academic Team – 2nd Team (Top 40 College), 2007
Alpha Pi Mu National Award of Excellence (1 of 8 selected), 2007
NOAA/Hollings Scholar, 2006-2008


Yongpei Guan profile picture
Yongpei Guan
NSF CAREER Award, 2008
Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, 2010
ISERC Best Paper Award (co-author), 2013
Boyi Hu profile picture
Boyi Hu
National Award for Outstanding Self-financed Chinese Students Studying Abroad, 2016
Team member, 2016 NASA Centennial Sample Return Robot Challenge champion, 2016
Human Factor and Ergonomics Society Student Member with Honors Award, 2015
Team member, 2015 NASA Centennial Sample Return Robot Challenge champion, 2015


David Kaber profile picture
David Kaber
NSF CAREER Award, 1998
Fellow, Human Factors and Ergonomics Society, 2011
C. A. Anderson Outstanding Faculty Award, ISE Department at NC State University, 2013
Senior Member, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, 2014
Editor-in-Chief, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, 2015
Fellow, Institute of Industrial Engineering, 2015


Panos M. Pardalos profile picture
Panos M. Pardalos
Obermann Faculty Fellowship, 1994
Greek National Award & Gold Medal for Operations Research, 2001
William Pierskalla Best Paper Award, 2004
American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellow, 2004
N.I. Lobachevski State University of Nizhni Novgorod, Russia Honorary Doctor, 2005
INFORMS Fellow, 2006
V.M. Glushkov Institute of Cybernetics of the National Academy of Science Honorary Doctor, 2008
Roberto D. Galvão Prize Best Paper Award, 2009
University of Ballarat, Australia Honorary Professor, 2010
Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada Honorary Doctor, 2012
University of Catania, Italy Medal for Broad Contributions in Science & Engineering, 2013
International Conference “Numerical Computations: Theory & Algorithms” Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievements in the Field of Optimization, 2013
Anhui University of Science & Technology, China Honorary Professor, 2013
Association of European Operational Research Societies EURO Gold Medal, 2013
Constantin Carathéodory Prize, 2013
Paul and Heidi Brown Preeminent Professor in Industrial and Systems Engineering, 2014
Fellow, EUROPT, 2015
Fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, 2016
University of Florida Chapter Sigma Xi Senior Faculty Research Award, 2017
University Term Professorship, 2018-2021
Humboldt Research Award, 2018
Distiniguished Alumni Award, Computer Science & Engineering, University of Minnesota, 2019