Advisory Board

Upon the recommendation of the 1998 Visiting Committee, the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering at the University of Florida instituted its first external Advisory Board in the fall of 1999. The Board is comprised of industrial, government and academic members with vested interests in the department, programs and graduates.


The mission of the ISE Advisory Board is to provide independent, constructive assessment of the Department programs and activities, including faculty, curricula, students, administration, facilities and equipment, and alumni and industrial relations. In addition, the Board members will be advocates of the Department to the College, University, Trustees and Legislature and will be proactive in helping the Department acquire resources, recruit students, and provide career opportunities for ISE graduates.


The purpose of the ISE Advisory Board is to:

  1. Provide input and guidance on the Department’s strategic plan.
  2. Provide input to the graduate and undergraduate curricula in terms of degrees, majors, minors, courses, and course sequencing.
  3. Provide input into relevant student activities and external coursework that would benefit a student’s UF experience.
  4. Provide support for the Department in the form of internship and co-op opportunities, graduate and undergraduate research experiences, senior projects, speakers (seminar, class or banquet), equipment, and/or research funding.
  5. Foster development activities in support of the department.
  6. Support the Department through increased awareness of Industrial and Systems Engineering at the University of Florida.


The board is comprised of the following members:

Name Affiliation Title

Dr. Dharma Acharya CSX Transportation Assistant Vice President, Operations Research
Dr. John Bartholdi Georgia Institute of Technology Professor and Manhattan Associates Chair
Mr. Joshua Bass JM Family Enterprises Vice President, Customer Services
Ms. Valeri Bishop Motorola (Retired) Chair, 75th Anniversary Planning Committee
Mr. Roger B. Broderick Broderick and Associates, Inc. President
Mr. Steven Chastain URS Corporation Vice President, South Region
Mr. Dave Corey Solicore Chief Executive Officer
Ms. Trudy Daniels Crystal Clear Technologies Director, IT Enterprise Services
Mr. David L. Echols Deltan Group President
Mr. Scott Figura The Coca-Cola Company Director, Global Supply Chain Capability Development
Ms. Kristen Grunza GE Energy Services Integration & Operations Leader
Mr. Hunter Jones Cameron International Vice President & Chief Information Officer
Dr. Michael Leonard, P.E. Mercer University Senior Associate Dean and Professor
Mr. Roger N. Madariaga GKN Driveline Americas (Retired) Chair, Industrial and Systems Advisory Board
Mr. Kevin L. Maher Accenture Partner
Dr. Robert Murphey US Air Force Research Laboratory Technical Advisor, Aerodynamics, Guidance, Navigation, and Controls
Dr. Bill Nulty Scientific Logistics, LLC Chief Technology Officer
Mr. Steven M. O’Flarity Pratt & Whitney Program Manager, Adv. Diagnostics and Eng. Mgmt.
Mr. David Paolini QualiTest Vice President, North America
Mr. Larry A. Shughart WorleyParsons Global Director, Transportation
Ms. Consuela Smith Harris Corporation Electrical Engineer III
Mr. Eric Stern Esterline Control Systems Chief Operating Officer
Mr. Kevin Teehan HID Global VP of Supply Chain
Mr. David Wright Nielsen Engineering Leader, Service Delivery


The Dean of the College of Engineering also has an advisory board. The following ISE graduates currently sit on that board:

Name Affiliation Title

Ms. Linda Hudson BAE Systems Chief Executive Officer
Mr. Hjalma Johnson Retired UF Distinguished Alumnus
Mr. Bill McElroy CH2MHill Vice President and Gainesville Area Manager
Mr. Carlos del Sol Campbell Soup Company Vice President
Ms. Erin Wallace Walt Disney Senior Vice President